Harry Ten Shilling, Shakespeare ON

Afternoon Tea!

Afternoon Tea!

I had decided that I’d spend my Saturday afternoon in Stratford (@StratfordON), I’ve heard great things and while I’m sure they’re all true, it didn’t ring true for me on this day. So I retreated back towards KW where I had eyed this teenie town of Shakespeare (on HWY 7, about 30 minutes from the depths of Waterloo). Literally one street that closes by 4pm! How does anyone sustain a business on these minimal hours?

Anyway, it was a little gold mind of a town, full of antique shops (Like Jonnys Antiques or Land and Ross) and the best little afternoon British tea shop called Harry Ten Shilling where I popped in for a snack. For $24 I had “Tea for One” which was really enough for three people. I ate little cheese and chutney sandwiches, scones with Devon Cream, banana bread, red velvet cupcakes, and marshmallow peanut butter tarts…. it was all so good! There was so much food I took home a doggie bag. The dining room has large windows with views of the surrounding bushes and garden and has large tables to accommodate bigger parties (great spot for a bridal party, birthday, or cute party of any kind). The waiter (who I believe was also the owner with his wife) was younger and tried to be very funny, which he was if not a bit awkward. HA! The front of house sells chocolates, tea pots, and turkish delight great for gifts if you’re not already stuffed by the end. I think I’ll definitely be using this place for a special occasion sometime soon, I’ll have to stock up on fascinators and big posh hats for the full effect!

@SavourStratford

@JonnysAntiques

2203 Line 34, Shakespeare, ON N0B 2P0 (519) 508-8333

Leave a Reply

